Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 63

ElectroEgg
Apprentece

Trinidad and Tobago
7 Posts

Posted - May 22 2008 :  9:25:23 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi audioguru, as you can see I am new here. But not particularly new to electronics. I am a EEET level 1 student who likes to do practicals whenever I have free time. I am currently working on an inverter project. I've tried Aaron's schematic twice and ended up with 4 fried transistors and 3 fried capacitors. After that I decided to read the forums from pages 1-45 . Since you are the expert hear can you help me design an inverter circuit? All I have to start is a 10A Transformer with 12v-0-12v IN and 110/220v 60/50Hz OUT. This would be able to deliver 120W right? Please feel free to correct me if I am wrong, I am eager to learn. Oh! I would like to run a 110W Television or a 100W radio on it. Would these be able to work on a square wave?

Edited by - ElectroEgg on May 23 2008 01:28:43 AM
Go to Top of Page

audioguru
Nobel Prize Winner

Canada
4218 Posts

Posted - May 23 2008 :  10:50:08 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi ElecroEgg,
I have already helped enough people make a very simple inverter on this website.
A radio and TV might not work from a square-wave inverter because their power supply usually runs on the peak voltage of a sine-wave which is 1.414 times higher than a square-wave. In The Philippines they have TVs that run from any voltage from 80V to 150V and they work fine from a simple square-wave inverter.

Your little transformer is designed to have an output of 12V-0V-12V when it has a load of 10A and the primary has 110V or 220V. Its output is probably 13.5V-0V-13.5V without a load. So when you turn it around and put a 12V square-wave into it, its output voltage will be 12V/13.5V= 0.89 times what you expect and lower when loaded.
A transformer with a higher power rating will not have such a high loss.