SMPS troubleshooting

Printed from: Aaron's Homepage Forum
Topic URL: http://www.aaroncake.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7891
Printed on: Apr 29 2024

Topic:

Topic author: blowhard7
Subject: SMPS troubleshooting
Posted on: Dec 04 2008 11:55:34 AM
I'm relatively new at electronics repair and have a difficult problem.

I have an Akia 200watt SMPS that I have partially repaired. The supply powers a 27 inch lcd tv display. Originally it had 5v standby power only and would not turn on. Almost all of the low voltage output capacitors were domed and leaking. I replaced all of the output caps with new low esr, high frequency caps of the same voltage and capacitance. Both main filter caps were replaced also as a precaution.

The display now functions properly. 5v, 12v and 24v outputs appear good.

Unfortunately, the supply has a noticeable buzz coming from both PQ3220-1000C transformers when turned on. Annoying to the point that the set is not usable. I do not know if the supply buzzed prior to the cap failure since the unit was given to me dead.

Perhaps the bad caps caused damage to other components?? I see no other visible damage. I have checked almost all other components in circuit (to the best of my ability) with a digital VOM and cannot find any bad components.

Suggestions are appreciated. Not sure what to look for next. I'll attach a picture of the supply. Schematic is avialable here: http://www.turuta.md/PSU/LCT-2016.pdf

Download Attachment: 200W SMPS.JPG
70.58 KB

Replies:

Reply author: chandan.ahluwalia
Replied on: Dec 04 2008 5:34:29 PM
This is not a solution but that means a lot of current is being drawn from the transformers causing humming sound.

Reply author: audioguru
Replied on: Dec 04 2008 7:14:13 PM
A very cheap and poorly made transformer buzzes.

Reply author: blowhard7
Replied on: Dec 04 2008 8:03:36 PM
Thanks, yes, I'm aware of the poor design and high current possibily. It's also been suggested there is a possible control loop instability??