Page: of 63

audioguru
Nobel Prize Winner

Canada
4214 Posts

Posted - Sep 27 2006 :  7:46:14 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Benito
Is there a formula or table that can be used to guide the tinkerer to switch the parts neccessary to get more power out in proportion to the small power in?

An electronic circuit cannot make power!

Power out must be less than power in because of losses that cause heating.
Go to Top of Page

Benito
Apprentece

5 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2006 :  1:45:40 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by audioguru
An electronic circuit cannot make power!

Power out must be less than power in because of losses that cause heating.

I understand that power must come from some where before the circuit, as designed, can alter that power.

Why asked for a table or formula?
1. I am an amateur in electronics and definitely want to learn.
2. I would like to become skilled at calculating how many amps will come out of the circuit along with the 110V at 60 Hz when the source of the power is a 12V battery. Would also like to figure out which parts to replace in order for the circuit to handle 2 or more 12V batteries in series for more power or parallel for higher input voltage.
Go to Top of Page

audioguru
Nobel Prize Winner

Canada
4214 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2006 :  8:32:08 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
I would like to become skilled at calculating how many amps will come out of the circuit along with the 110V at 60 Hz when the source of the power is a 12V battery.

Power= Volts x Amps. 12V (battery)x 500A (rediculously high current)= 6000 Watts into the inverter. The inverter circuit isn't perfect so heats with 1000 Watts. Therefore the total output power is 5000 Watts which is 120V at 41.67A.

quote:
Would also like to figure out which parts to replace in order for the circuit to handle 2 or more 12V batteries in series for more power or parallel for higher input voltage.